Glossary / Help Page
Adscapes and Unique Ad Opportunitities: Adscapes are uniquely shaped ads that make your message stand out in a whole new way.
Banner Ad: a graphic advertising image displayed on a web page to fit ad slots. Standard Interactive Advertising Bureau (IBA) sizes include medium rectangle (300x250 pixels) and a leaderboard (728x90 pixels).
Behavioral Targeting: Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual‘s Web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited, the searches they have made and ads they have clicked on.
Click-Through: The landing page or website that is called up when an end user clicks on an online ad.
Competitive Geofencing: Hyperlocal Mobile strategy to reach consumers who are nearby at a competitor's location but still in the advertiser's general area.
Content Targeting: Places your ad in front of users who are consuming content that you have chosen that is relevant to your brand. Targeting is based on keywords within the content.
Co-op Advertising: Extend your marketing frequency through shared costs. The Star's co-op advertising department will access co-op funds, develop co-op-approved ads and process claim and billing forms to provide a seamless co-op advertising experience.
Cost-Per-Acquisition (CPA): Cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined ‘Acquisition’, ‘Action’ in response to an ad. “Actions” include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, filling out a form, or a click.
Cost-Per-Thousand (CPM): Media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a website that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15.
Budget / CPM = Impression Goal
Impression Goal X CPM = Budget
Daypart: Dividing the day into several parts and providing unique ad during each schedule. You won’t see ads for Grey Goose on TV during the afternoon, and you won’t see ads for Lucky Charms at night, and for good reason.
Example – Breakfast ad serves from 5am – 10am
Demographic: Selected targeting characteristics used in marketing to the best fit audience. Commonly-used demographics include race, age, income, disabilities, education, home ownership, and even employment status.
Designated Market Area: A media market where the population can receive the same marketing offerings. Widely used in audience measurements, they can coincide with metropolitan areas, though rural regions can also be designated as markets.
Direct Mail Marketing: Star Direct is the direct-mail arm of The Star and can be your partner for all your direct marketing needs. Star Direct provides prospect lists, target analysis, in-house creative talent, design development, printing and postal optimization, response tracking and program management - all in one stop.
Frequency: The average number of times a user has displayed an ad. One person may see your banner ad three times over your advertising flight, creating a frequency of three.
Geotargeting: Displaying (or preventing the display of) Banner based on the user‘s position in the real world. Available to both PC and mobile data services.
Hyperlocal Mobile: Hyperlocal mobile targets users based on location. The GPS functionality in smartphones is coupled with thousands of mobile apps and sites to reach audiences based on their precise location. Hyperlocal Mobile has the most precise data.
Impression: When an ad is served on a website to an end user.
Inventory: The number of ad impressions available on a website for a given ad size during given time frame. As more targeting analytics are applied, the number of available impressions will change.
Mobile Application: A mobile app is a software application developed specifically for use on small, wireless computing devices, such as smartphones and tablets, rather than desktop or laptop computers.
Native Advertising: Is a form of online advertising that matches the form and function of the platform on which it appears. For example, an article written by an advertiser to promote their product, but using the same form as an article written by the editorial staff.
Opt-in: Refers to an individual giving a company permission to use data collected from the individual for a particular reason, such as to market the company’s products and services.
Optimizing: To make an online campaign as effective, in order to get the most out of it. Online campaigns are optimized so that we can focus on the best performing solutions to continue to serve the ads at the best level making it the most cost efficient.
Pageview: An instance of an Internet user visiting a web page on a given site.
Reach: The total number of different people or households exposed to a particular medium during a given period.
Responsive Design: An approach to web page creation that makes use of flexible layouts, flexible images and cascading style sheet media queries. The goal of responsive design is to build web pages that detect the visitor’s screen size and orientation and change the layout accordingly.
Roadblock: Sponsorship banner for a short duration, usually 24 hours versus monthly flight. Can be combined with two ad slots.
Search Engine: An application that helps Web users find information on the Internet (i.e. Google). The method for finding this information is usually done by maintaining an index of Web resources that can be queried for the keywords or concepts entered by the user.
Search Engine Marketing (SEM): A form of Internet Marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in the Search Engine result pages.
Sponsorship: Is a fixed advertising banner for the duration of the online campaign, versus a typical impression campaign in which the advertiser buys rotating spots on the website.
Star Notes: Star Notes are front-page, removable, reusable notes that make your message stand out. They allow readers to take your message with them.
Targeted Sections: The Kansas City Star publishes a variety of special-interest sections produced by the newsroom and by our Targeted Sections Department throughout the year.
Total Market Coverage Inserts: Inserts are a destination for readers and one of the most read sections of The Kansas City Star. Whatever you sell, there's an insert reader who is in the market for your product or service, looking for your message. Whether your message is delivered as a preprint or Star print-and-deliver insert, you can target your message - to subscribers, non-subscribers, metro-wide or down to the Zip code.
Unique Visitor: Refers to the number of distinct individuals requesting pages from a website during a given period, regardless of how often they visit.
Vendor Sections: When your business or group has a story to tell, our Vendor Department can assist by tapping into the advertising dollars of product and service providers you work with.